Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Mandate of the PSLRB

The Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) is an independent quasi-judicial statutory tribunal responsible for administering the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems in the federal public service, the Parliament of Canada and the Government of Yukon.

Federal public service

Section 13 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act (PSLRA) sets out the mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations Board:

"The Board's mandate is to provide adjudication services, mediation services and compensation analysis and research services in accordance with this Act."

The federal public service includes the departments named in Schedule I of the Financial Administration Act, the other portions of the public service named in Schedule IV, and the separate agencies named in Schedule V.

On December 12, 2013, the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2 received royal assent. That Act amended the PSLRB's mandate to eliminate the compensation analysis and research function.

Also included in that Act are provisions to merge the PSLRB and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) into an organization to be called the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB). The new Board will deal with matters that were previously dealt with by those former Boards under the Public Service Labour Relations Act and the Public Service Employment Act, respectively, which will permit proceedings under those Acts to be consolidated. Provisions to create the new Board will come into force on a date that has yet to be determined by Order in Council.

Until that time, the PSLRB and the PSST will continue to operate independently while working jointly and with other stakeholders to create the new PSLREB.

Parliament of Canada

Part I of the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA) is administered and applied by the Public Service Labour Relations Board.

Part I of PESRA gives employees of parliamentary institutions the right to form a union in order to negotiate collectively the conditions of their employment. It also gives these employees the right to lodge grievances concerning these conditions and, in certain cases, to refer these grievances to adjudication before a neutral third party.

PESRA covers employees working in the House of Commons, the Senate, the Library of Parliament, and the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner.

Government of Yukon

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the PSLRB administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems under the Yukon Education Labour Relations Act and the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act. When performing these functions funded by the Yukon government, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board and the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board, respectively.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Mandat de la CRTFP

La Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) est un tribunal indépendant quasi judiciaire établi par une loi chargé de l'administration des régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage des griefs dans la fonction publique fédérale, au Parlement du Canada et au gouvernement du Yukon.

Fonction publique fédérale

Le mandat de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est mentionné à l'article 13 de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (LRTFP):

« La Commission est chargée de la prestation de services en matière d'arbitrage, de médiation et d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération en conformité avec la présente loi. »

Font partie de la fonction publique fédérale les ministères qui figurent à l'annexe I de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, les autres secteurs de la fonction publique qui figurent à l'annexe IV, et les organismes distincts qui figurent à l'annexe V.

Le 12 décembre 2013, la Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2013 a reçu la sanction royale. Cette loi a modifié le mandat de la CRTFP, éliminant ainsi la fonction d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération de la CRTFP.

Cette loi renferme également des dispositions prévoyant la fusion de la CRTFP et du Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) en un seul organisme qui s'appellera la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP). La nouvelle Commission traitera des questions dont s'occupaient précédemment les anciennes Commissions en vertu de la LRTFP et de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique, respectivement, ce qui permettra de regrouper les instances en vertu de ces lois. Les dispositions en vue de créer la nouvelle Commission entreront en vigueur à une date qui n'a pas encore été établie par décret.

D'ici là, la CRTFP et la TDFP continueront de fonctionner indépendamment, tout en travaillant en collaboration et avec d'autres intervenants pour constituer la nouvelle CRTEFP.

Parlement du Canada

La partie I de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) est administrée et appliquée par la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

La partie I de la LRTP accorde aux employés d'institutions parlementaires le droit de former un syndicat pour la négociation collective de leurs conditions d'emploi. Elle donne également à ces employés le droit de déposer des griefs relatifs à ces conditions et, dans certains cas, de renvoyer ces griefs à l'arbitrage de griefs devant une tierce partie neutre.

La LRTP s'applique aux employés qui travaillent à la Chambre des communes, au Sénat, à la Bibliothèque du Parlement et au Commissariat aux conflits d’intérêt et à l’éthique.

Gouvernement du Yukon

La CRTFP, aux termes d'une entente avec le gouvernement du Yukon, applique les systèmes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs régis par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l'éducation du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu'elle s'acquitte de ces fonctions subventionnées par le gouvernement du Yukon, la CRTFP agit respectivement à titre de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon et de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon.