Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Announcement Archives

Return to Current Announcements

June 17, 2014

New Chairperson Appointed to the Public Service Labour Relations Board

I wish to announce that the Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, has appointed Catherine Ebbs as the new Chairperson of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB), effective July 2, 2014. The appointment of Ms. Ebbs is for a period of one year, or until the new Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board has been established.

Ms. Ebbs comes to the Board from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee where she served as chairperson, chief executive officer and senior legal counsel. Prior to that, she was a member of the Parole Board of Canada, where she served as the vice-chairperson of its Appeals Division. Ms. Ebbs is also a former chair of the Heads of Federal Administrative Tribunals Forum. She holds a Master of Laws from Osgoode Law School, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Ottawa, and a Bachelor of Arts from Carleton University.

I am pleased to welcome Ms. Ebbs to the Board.

David Paul Olsen
Acting Chairperson

October 8, 2013

Appointment of a New Part-time Board Member

I am pleased to announce that the Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage, has appointed Emily M. Burke of Vancouver, British Columbia, a part-time member of the Public Service Labour Relations Board. Her five-year term began on October 1, 2013.

I am delighted to welcome Ms. Burke to the Board.

David Paul Olsen
Acting Chairperson

November 8, 2012

Appointment of a new Full-time Board Member

I am pleased to announce the appointment as a full-time Board Member of Mr. John G. Jaworski to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

John G. Jaworski brings to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) extensive experience in labour- and employment-related litigation and mediation in the public sector, most recently as senior counsel at the Department of Justice. Before joining the federal public service, he worked as a practicing lawyer in the private sector in Ottawa, at the Superior Court of Ontario and at the Ontario Court of Appeal.

A seasoned instructor in the areas of litigation and business law, including the Bar Admissions Course for the Law Society of Upper Canada, Mr. Jaworski holds a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree from the University of Ottawa and a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from Carleton University.

Mr. Jaworski takes up his position as a full-time Board Member on November 5, 2012 for a period of five years.

I know you will all join me in extending a warm welcome to Mr. Jaworski.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

July 6, 2012

Appointment of a new Vice-Chairperson

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. David Paul Olsen as a Vice-Chairperson of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

Mr. Olsen brings to the PSLRB more than 35 years of experience in the areas of labour, employment and human rights law. Most recently, he was a full-time member with the Canada Industrial Relations Board.

Mr. Olsen began his public service career in 1974 as counsel for the Department of Justice, specializing in labour law and civil litigation. He also held progressively senior positions within Canada Post, including Assistant General Counsel, in which he had national responsibility for the corporation's legal practice.

He holds a Masters of Law from McGill University, a Bachelor of Law from Queens University and a Bachelor of Arts from Carleton University. A long-standing member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, he was a part-time professor of labour law at the Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa, and he is an occasional lecturer for continuing education seminars and conferences on labour, employment and human rights law, as well as pay equity.

Mr. Olsen takes up his position as Vice-Chairperson on August 27, 2012 for a period of five years.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson


June 1, 2012

Appointment of a new full-time Board Member

I am pleased to announce the appointment as a full-time Board Member of Mr. Michael F. McNamara to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

Mr. McNamara comes to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) from the Public Service Alliance of Canada, where he spent more than two decades negotiating collective agreements. He has extensive experience in negotiating collective agreements in the federal public service, as well as under the Canada Labour Code, the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, and the Northwest Territories and Nunavut public service Acts. In addition, from 2003 until joining the PSLRB, Mr. McNamara was a director of the Federal Public Service Health Care Plan.

Mr. McNamara takes up his position as a full-time Board Member on June 1, 2012 for a period of five years.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

April 16, 2012

Appointment of a new full-time Board Member

I am pleased to announce the appointment as a full-time Board Member of Ms. Margaret Shannon to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage. Ms. Shannon brings to the PSLRB extensive experience in the fields of labour relations, both within Canada and internationally, as well as employment law and human resources. Prior to joining the PSLRB, she was Special Advisor, Strategic Business Integration at the Canada Revenue Agency and previously Director of Collective Bargaining, Interpretation and Recourse at the Agency.

Ms. Shannon takes up her position as a full-time Board Member on April 16, 2012 for a period of five years.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

October 24, 2011

Sylvie M.D. Guilbert Joins the PSLRB as General Counsel

Sylvie GuilbertI am pleased to announce that Sylvie M.D. Guilbert has joined the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) as General Counsel, effective October 11, 2011.

A member of the Ontario and the British Columbia law societies, Ms. Guilbert has considerable experience in labour and employment law, including the areas of collective bargaining, grievance arbitration, human rights and pay equity.

Prior to joining the PSLRB, Ms. Guilbert worked as a lawyer in private practice in both Ottawa and Toronto. She also served as General Counsel at a crown corporation and as a law professor at the University of Ottawa.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

September 1, 2011

Appointment of a new full-time Board Member

I am pleased to announce the appointment as a full-time Board Member of Mr. Steven B. Katkin to the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage. Mr. Katkin was initially appointed as a part-time Board Member of the PSLRB in April 2010.

For the last 10 years, Mr. Katkin has been working in private practice in labour and employment law, and overall, he has been working in labour law for over 30 years. He takes up his position as a full-time Board Member on September 1, 2011 for a period of five years.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

May 17, 2011

New Vice-Chairpersons Appointed at the PSRLB

I am pleased to announce that Renaud Paquet and Linda Gobeil have been appointed Vice-Chairpersons at the PSLRB for a period of five years.

Mr. Paquet has extensive knowledge and experience in labour relations, which he gained throughout his career. Prior to joining the PSLRB as a full-time Board member in 2008, Mr. Paquet taught collective bargaining and labour relations at the Université du Québec. Before that, he held numerous positions in the federal public service. From 2002 to 2008, he was also an arbitrator in the private sector. His appointment is effective March 3, 2011.

Madame Gobeil has many years of experience in labour relations, as well as human resources and collective bargaining. A public servant for more than two decades, she is a member of the Barreau du Québec and has held many senior positions in various departments and agencies, honing her skills in labour relations, human resources and collective bargaining. Her appointment is effective April 28, 2011.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

Guy LalondeFebruary 21, 2011

Guy Lalonde Appointed Executive Director of the PSRLB

The PSLRB is pleased to announce that Guy Lalonde was appointed to the position of Executive Director, effective February 7, 2011. A graduate of Political Science, Public Policy and Management studies, Mr. Lalonde has more than 25 years experience working in various federal departments and agencies that specialize in labour relations for the public and private sectors.

December 17, 2010

Appointment of a new full-time Board Member

I am delighted to announce the appointment of Mr. Stephan J. Bertrand to the Public Service Labour Relations Board by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

Mr. Bertrand comes to us from the Department of Justice, where he holds the position of counsel. He takes up his position as a full-time Board member on December 30, 2010 for a five-year term.

Casper M. Bloom, Q.C., Ad. E.
Chairperson

December 8, 2009

On Friday, November 27, 2009, the PSLRB held a reception to honour the memory of Jacob Finkelman by naming its library after him. Jacob Finkelman was the first Chairperson of the Public Service Staff Relations Board and a pioneer in the field of Canadian labour law.

Biography of Mr. Finkelman

Library/Bibliotheque
Pictured from left to right are Mr. Casper Bloom, Chairperson of the Board;
Mrs. Shirley Goldenberg, co-author with Mr. Finkelman of Collective Bargaining in the Public Service: The Federal Experience in Canada; and Mr. Barry Finkelman, son of the late Mr. Finkelman.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Annonces antérieures

Retourner à la page d'annonces

Le 17 juin 2014

Nomination d'une nouvelle présidente à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique

J'aimerais annoncer que, sur recommandation de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, le gouverneur en conseil a nommé Catherine Ebbs à titre de nouvelle présidente de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP). La nomination de Mme Ebbs, qui prendra effet le 2 juillet 2014, durera une année ou jusqu'à l'établissement de la nouvelle Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique.

Mme Ebbs a été présidente et directrice générale du Comité externe d'examen de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, où elle a agi également à titre d'avocate-conseil principale. Elle a été auparavant membre de la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles. Pendant son mandat, elle a occupé le poste de vice-présidente de la Section d'appel de l'organisme. Mme Ebbs est également l'ancienne présidente du Forum pour les présidents des tribunaux administratifs fédéraux. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en droit de la Osgoode Law School, d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa et d'un baccalauréat en arts de l'Université Carleton.

Je suis ravi d'accueillir Mme Ebbs à la Commission.

David Paul Olsen
Président intérimaire

Le 8 octobre 2013

Nomination d’une nouvelle commissaire à temps partiel

Je suis heureux d’annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé Emily M. Burke, de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, à titre de commissaire à temps partiel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Son mandat de cinq ans a commencé le 1er octobre 2013.

Je suis ravi d’accueillir Mme Burke à la Commission.

David Paul Olsen
Président par intérim

Le 8 novembre 2012

Nomination d’un nouveau commissaire à temps plein

J’ai le plaisir d’annoncer la nomination de Me John G. Jaworski à titre de commissaire à temps plein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) par le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

John G. Jaworski apporte à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) sa vaste expérience en litige et en médiation dans le domaine du travail et de l’emploi au sein du secteur public, notamment à titre de conseiller juridique principal au ministère de la Justice, où il a travaillé dernièrement. Avant d’entrer dans la fonction publique fédérale, il a pratiqué le droit dans le secteur privé à Ottawa, plaidant notamment devant la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario et la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario.

Formateur chevronné en matière de litige et de droit commercial, notamment dans le cadre du cours de préparation au Barreau du Haut-Canada, Me Jaworski est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de l’Université d’Ottawa et d’un baccalauréat ès arts en sciences politiques de l’Université Carleton.

Me Jaworski a été nommé commissaire à temps plein le 5 novembre 2012 pour une période de cinq ans.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

Le 6 juillet 2012

Nomination d’un nouveau vice-président

Je suis heureux d’annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé M. David Paul Olsen en tant que vice-président de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la Commission).

M. Olsen apporte avec lui plus de 35 années d’expérience dans le domaine du droit du travail, de l’emploi et des droits de la personne. Tout récemment, il était membre à temps plein du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles.

M. Olsen a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique en 1974 en tant que conseiller juridique au ministère de la Justice où il se spécialisait en droit du travail et en contentieux des affaires civiles. Progressivement, M. Olsen a occupé des postes de plus en plus importants au sein de la Société, notamment celui d’avocat général adjoint où il a assumé la responsabilité des affaires juridiques à l’échelle nationale.

M. Olsen est titulaire d’une maîtrise en droit de l’Université McGill, d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université Queens et d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Carleton. Membre de longue date du Barreau du Haut-Canada, M. Olsen a été professeur de droit du travail, à temps partiel, à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d’Ottawa, et il agit parfois à titre de conférencier lors de séminaires pour l’éducation permanente et lors de conférences ayant trait au droit du travail, de l’emploi et de la personne ainsi qu’à la parité salariale.

La nomination de M. Olsen à titre de vice-président de la Commission sera en vigueur le 27 août 2012.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président


Le 1er juin 2012

Nomination d’un nouveau commissaire à temps plein

J’ai le plaisir d’annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé M. Michael F. McNamara à titre de commissaire à temps plein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP).

Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP, M. McNamara était au service de l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, où il a consacré plus de deux décennies à la négociation de conventions collectives. Il possède une vaste expérience de la négociation de conventions collectives dans la fonction publique fédérale en vertu du Code canadien du travail, de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, et des lois régissant la fonction publique des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut. De 2003 jusqu’à son entrée en fonction à la CRTFP, M. McNamara a été administrateur du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique fédérale.

M. McNamara entre en poste à titre de commissaire à temps plein le 1er juin 2012 pour une période de cinq ans.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

Le 16 avril 2012

Nomination d’une nouvelle commissaire à temps plein

Je suis heureux d’annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé Mme Margaret Shannon en tant que commissaire à temps plein à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP). Mme Shannon apporte à la CRTFP sa vaste expérience dans le domaine des relations de travail acquise au Canada et sur la scène internationale, ainsi que dans les domaines du droit du travail et des ressources humaines. Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP, elle était conseillère spéciale auprès de la Direction de l’intégration stratégique des affaires à l’Agence du revenu du Canada, et auparavant directrice, Négociations collectives, interprétation et recours, au sein de l’ARC.

Mme Shannon entre en fonction en tant que commissaire à temps plein le 16 avril 2012, pour un mandat de cinq ans.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
président

Le 24 octobre 2011

Sylvie M.D. Guilbert se joint à la CRTFP à titre d´avocate générale

Sylvie GuilbertJ´ai le plaisir de vous annoncer que Sylvie M.D. Guilbert s´est jointe à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) le 11 octobre dernier à titre d´avocate générale.

Membre des barreaux de l´Ontario et de la Colombie-Britannique, Me Guilbert possède une vaste expérience en droit du travail, notamment en ce qui concerne la négociation collective, l´arbitrage de griefs, les droits de la personne et l´équité salariale.

Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP, Me Guilbert a été avocate en cabinet privé à Ottawa et à Toronto ainsi qu´avocate générale d´une société d'État et professeure de droit à l'Université d'Ottawa.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

Le 1er septembre 2011

Nomination d´un nouveau commissaire à temps plein

Je suis heureux d´annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé M. Steven B. Katkin en tant que commissaire à temps plein à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP). M. Katkin avait été nommé commissaire à temps partiel de la CRTFP en avril 2010.

Ces 10 dernières années, M. Katkin a travaillé en pratique privée en droit du travail et de l´emploi. Il travaille en droit du travail depuis plus de 30 ans. Il se joindra à nous en tant que commissaire à temps plein le 1er septembre 2011 pour une période de cinq ans.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

le 17 mai 2011

Nomination de nouveaux vice-présidents à la CRTFP

Je suis heureux d´annoncer que Renaud Paquet et Linda Gobeil ont été nommés vice présidents à la CRTFP pour une période de cinq ans.

M. Paquet possède des connaissances et une expérience considérables dans le domaine des relations de travail, qu´il a acquises tout au long de sa carrière. Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP comme commissaire à temps plein en 2008, M. Paquet enseignait les négociations collectives et les relations de travail à l´Université du Québec. Avant cela, il a occupé divers postes dans la fonction publique fédérale. De 2002 à 2008, il a également travaillé comme arbitre dans le secteur privé. Sa nomination prend effet le 3 mars 2011.

Me Gobeil compte de nombreuses années d´expérience en relations de travail et dans les domaines des ressources humaines et des négociations collectives. Elle est membre du Barreau du Québec et a fait carrière dans la fonction publique pendant plus de deux décennies. Elle a occupé un grand nombre de postes de niveau supérieur dans divers ministères et organismes fédéraux, parfaisant ainsi ses compétences en relations de travail, en ressources humaines et en négociation collective. Sa nomination prend effet le 28 avril 2011.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

Guy Lalondele 21 février 2011

Guy Lalonde nommé au poste de directeur général de la CRTFP

La CRTFP est heureuse d'annoncer la nomination de Guy Lalonde au poste de directeur général, poste qu'il occupe depuis le 7 février 2011. Diplômé en sciences politiques, en politiques publiques et en gestion, M. Lalonde cumule plus de 25 années d'expérience auprès de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux qui se spécialisent dans les relations de travail au sein des secteurs public et privé.

le 17 décembre 2010

Nomination d´un nouveau membre à temps plein

Je suis heureux d´annoncer que le gouverneur en conseil, suivant la recommandation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, a nommé M. Stephan J. Bertrand à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

M. Bertrand nous vient du ministère de la Justice, où il occupe le poste d´avocat. Il se joindra à nous à titre de commissaire à temps plein le 30 décembre 2010 pour un mandat de cinq ans.

Casper M. Bloom, c.r., Ad. E.
Président

le 8 décembre 2009

Vendredi le 27 novembre 2009, la CRTFP a tenu une réception afin d´honorer la mémoire de Jacob Finkelman, en donnant son nom à la bibliothèque. Jacob Finkelman a été le premier président de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique et un pionnier dans le domaine du droit du travail au Canada.

La biographie de M. Finkelman

Library/Bibliotheque
Dans la photo de gauche à droite apparaissent M. Casper Bloom, Président de la Commission,
Mme. Shirley Goldenberg, co-auteure avec M. Finkelman de l´ouvrage Collective bargaining in the public service: the federal experience in Canada et M. Barry Finkelman, fils de feu M. Finkelman.