Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Collective Bargaining

The Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) is responsible for the administration of the collective bargaining process within the federal public service covered by the Public Service Labour Relations Act (PSLRA) and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA). The PSLRA introduces new approaches to the process of collective bargaining.

Overview of Collective Bargaining

Approximately 200,000 employees in 100 bargaining units are covered by the collective bargaining and other provisions of the PSLRA. The PSLRA provides a choice between two methods of resolving collective bargaining disputes: binding arbitration and the referral of a dispute to conciliation. The latter method gives employees the right to strike under certain prescribed conditions and is therefore often referred to as the "conciliation/strike route". The bargaining agent chooses the method of dispute resolution for each bargaining unit and can change it prior to each round of bargaining. The PESRA provides for binding arbitration as the only method available for the resolution of collective bargaining disputes for parliamentary employees; there is therefore no right to strike.

When Mediation May Be Involved

Regardless of which method of dispute resolution has been selected by the bargaining agent, the parties may reach a point in their face-to-face negotiations where it is increasingly difficult to make progress. At this stage, either party may choose to request the services of a mediator. The Chairperson of the PSLRB may at any time, if requested to do so or on his or her own, appoint a mediator to confer with the parties to a dispute and to endeavour to assist them in settling the dispute.

Public Interest Commission

Should the involvement of a mediator not bring about a settlement and where the method of resolution is "conciliation/strike", a Public Interest Commission (PIC) may be appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the Chairperson of the PSLRB. A PIC may be composed of a single person or a panel of three persons. It should be noted that members of a PIC are selected from a list of persons jointly agreed to by the parties. The PIC will report its recommendations for settlement within 30 days of its appointment to the Chairperson of the PSLRB, who will then make the report public.

In the event that the recommendations from the PIC do not bring about a settlement, the PSLRA requires that a secret ballot strike vote be held before a strike may be called. All employees in the bargaining unit will have the right to vote and must be given reasonable opportunity to participate in the vote. The bargaining agent may authorize or declare a strike only within the period of 60 days following the vote, provided that it has received the majority support of voters.

Arbitration Boards

Arbitration boards, where that is the selected method of dispute resolution, are established in the same manner as PICs, except that they are established by the Chairperson of the PSLRB. Either party may request the establishment of an arbitration board. At the outset of the process, the Chairperson of the PSLRB must give the arbitration board a notice referring the matters in dispute to it for arbitration. In most cases, the parties will have reached agreement on a substantial number of provisions before arbitration is requested. In conducting proceedings and rendering its award, an arbitration board is required to consider a number of factors, including conditions of employment in similar occupations outside the public service, the need to maintain appropriate relationships between classification levels within the public service and the need to take into account the state of the Canadian economy and of the government’s fiscal circumstances. An arbitral award is binding on the parties and usually forms a supplement to the collective agreement.

Services Provided to the Yukon

In addition, the PSLRB, under an agreement with the Yukon government, administers the collective bargaining systems under Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act and Public Service Labour Relations Act. When performing these functions funded by the Yukon government, the PSLRB acts respectively as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board and the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Négociation collective

La nouvelle Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) est responsable de l’administration des processus de négociation collective dans la fonction publique qui sont régis par la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (LRTFP) et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP). La nouvelle LRTFP instaure de nouvelles approches à l’égard du processus de négociation collective.

Aperçu de la négociation collective

Environ 200 000 fonctionnaires répartis dans 100 unités de négociation sont régis par les dispositions de la nouvelle LRTFP portant notamment sur la négociation collective. La nouvelle LRTFP prévoit deux modes de règlement des différends : l’arbitrage exécutoire et la conciliation. Cette dernière approche accorde aux employés le droit de déclencher une grève sous réserve de certaines conditions; c’est pourquoi elle est souvent appelée la « voie de la conciliation/grève ». L’agent négociateur décide du mode de règlement des différends pour chaque unité de négociation et peut le changer avant chaque ronde de négociation. La Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP) prévoit un seul mode de règlement des différends dans le cadre de la négociation collective, à savoir l’arbitrage exécutoire; les employés n’ont donc pas le droit de grève.

Quand la médiation peut être une option

Quel que soit le mode de règlement desdifférends que l’agent négociateur choisit, les parties peuvent arriver à un point des négociations face à face où il devient de plusen plus difficile de progresser. À ce stade, l’une ou l’autre des parties peut demander les services d’un médiateur. Le président de la CRTFP peut, en tout temps, sur demande ou de sa propre initiative, nommer un médiateur chargé de conférer avec les parties à un différend et de favoriser un règlement.

Les commissions de l'intérêt publique

Si, malgré l’aide du médiateur, les parties ne peuvent pas s’entendre et le mode de règlement est la « conciliation/grève », le ministre peut établir une commission de l’intérêt public sur recommandation du président de la CRTFP. Une commission de l’intérêt public peut être composée d’une seule personne ou d’un groupe de trois personnes. Les membres d’une telle commission sont choisis à partir d’une liste de personnes désignées conjointement par les parties. Dans les 30 jours suivant sa nomination, la commission de l’intérêt public soumettra des recommandations au président de la CRTFP qui rendra alors le rapport public.

Si les recommandations ne permettent pas d’en arriver à un règlement, la nouvelle LRTFP prévoit la tenue d’un vote de grève secret avant qu’une grève puisse être déclenchée. Tous les employés d’une unité de négociation ont le droit de voter et doivent avoir la possibilité de le faire. L’agent négociateur peut seulement autoriser ou déclarer une grève dans la période de 60 jours suivant le vote, advenant qu’il ait reçu l’appui de la majorité des membres.

Les conseils d'arbitrage

Lorsque l’arbitrage est le mode de règlement des différends qui a été choisi, les conseils d’arbitrage sont établis de la même manière que les commissions de l’intérêt public, sauf qu’ils sont créés par le président de la CRTFP. L’une ou l’autre des parties peut demander l’établissement d’un conseil d’arbitrage. Dès le début du processus, le président de la CRTFP doit informer le conseil d’arbitrage par écrit des questions en litige. Dans la plupart des cas, les parties se seront entendues sur plusieurs dispositions avant de recourir à l’arbitrage. Dans le cadre des procédures et lorsqu’il rend sa décision, le conseil d’arbitrage doit tenir compte de nombreux facteurs, notamment les conditions d’emploi offertes dans les professions semblables à l’extérieur de la fonction publique, la nécessité de maintenir des rapports convenables entre les niveaux de classification au sein de la fonction publique, et l'état de l'économie canadienne et la situation fiscale du gouvernement du Canada. La décision arbitrale lie les parties et constitue habituellement un complément à la convention collective.

Services offerts au gouvernement du Yukon

De plus, la CRTFP, aux termes d’une entente avec le gouvernement du Yukon, applique les systèmes de négociation collective régis par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l’éducation et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions subventionnées par le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission agit respectivement à titre de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon et de Commission des relations de travail de la fonction publique du Yukon.