Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Frequently Asked Questions about the PSLRB

What is the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and what does it do?

The PSLRB is an independent quasi-judicial statutory tribunal responsible for administering the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for both the federal public service and for Parliament. In accordance with its mandate, the PSLRB provides two main services*:

  • Adjudication services: Board members render decisions on complaints and labour relations matters and act as adjudicators in grievance hearings brought before them under the Public Service Labour Relations Act (PSLRA), and
  • Mediation services: Mediation provided by the PSLRB helps parties reach collective agreements, manage their relations under collective agreements, and resolve complaints and grievances in an effort to avoid formal adjudication hearings.

*The Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2 amended the PSLRB's mandate, eliminating the compensation analysis and research function.

go to top

What happened to the former Public Service Staff Relations Board (PSSRB)?

The PSSRB ceased to exist with the coming into force of the Public Service Labour Relations Act on April 1, 2005.

go to top

What do Board members do and how are they selected?

Board members render decisions on complaints and labour relations applications, and act as adjudicators in grievance hearings. They may also serve as mediators.

Board members, other than the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons, are selected by the Governor in Council from a list prepared by the Chairperson of the Board in consultation with public service bargaining agents and public service employers covered by the PSLRA. Recommendations are put forward and a list of persons eligible to be appointed to the Board is prepared.

To be eligible, an individual must have knowledge of or experience in labour relations. Appointments are to be made so as to ensure that, to the greatest extent possible, there is a balance on the Board between persons recommended by employers and by bargaining agents. However, even though a Board member may have been recommended by one party or the other, he or she does not represent that party and is required to act impartially at all times. Board members are appointed by the Governor in Council for terms of no longer than five years and may be re-appointed any number of times.

For biographical information, please see Board members.

go to top

What types of proceedings take place before the PSLRB?

Proceedings before the PSLRB include the following:

Grievances (individual, group or policy)

  • interpretation of collective agreements and arbitral awards
  • disciplinary action resulting in termination, demotion, suspension or financial penalty
  • demotion or termination for unsatisfactory performance or for any other non-disciplinary reasons
  • deployment without an employee’s consent

Complaints

  • unfair labour practices
  • reprisal actions taken for raising an issue under Part II of the Canada Labour Code

Applications

  • certification and revocation of certification
  • determination of successor rights
  • determination of managerial or confidential positions
  • determination of essential services agreements
  • review of prior Board decisions
  • requests for extensions of time to present grievances or to refer grievances to adjudication
go to top

To which government department does PSLRB report?

As an independent quasi-judicial tribunal, the PSLRB is responsible to Parliament through a designated minister who is not a member of the Treasury Board. The designated minister is currently the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, who is responsible under the Public Service Labour Relations Act for tabling the PSLRB’s annual report to Parliament, for certain appointments under that Act and for signing documents required under the Financial Administration Act. The Chairperson of the Board is directly responsible and accountable to Parliament for the operation and administration of the PSLRB.

Why does the PSLRB post its decisions and orders on its website?

The PSLRB’s Policy on Openness and Privacy explains why information filed with the PSLRB is generally available to the public and why it could be reported in a decision posted on the PSLRB website and distributed to publishers.

Are privacy issues taken into consideration when the PSLRB posts its decisions on its website?

The PSLRB’s Policy on Openness and Privacy explains how privacy issues are taken into consideration when a decision has been rendered.

go to top

I am concerned that my name will appear from a PSLRB decision when an Internet search is performed on the PSLRB website. Can anything be done to protect my privacy?

The PSLRB’s Policy on Openness and Privacy explains the measures that have been taken to prevent Internet searches of full-text decisions posted on the PSLRB’s website. The only decision-related information on the website indexed by Internet search engines are decision summaries and the PSLRB’s annual reports. We cannot guarantee that the technological measures will always be respected or free of mistakes or malfunctions. Please address your questions to the webmaster at: webmaster-webmestre@pslrb.gc.ca.

How is the PSLRB held to account for its operations?

There are two main documents that support the PSLRB’s accountability to Parliament, to its clients and stakeholders, and to the Canadian public. The first is the PSLRB’s annual report to Parliament and the second is its annual performance report to Parliament (DPR).

Under section 251 of the PSLRA, at the end of each fiscal year the PSLRB is required to prepare an annual report on the administration of the Act during the previous year. The report outlines, among other things, the PSLRB’s mission, accomplishments and challenges. The designated Minister — currently the Minister of Canadian Heritage — is required to table the report in each House of Parliament within the first 15 days on which that House is sitting after he or she receives it.

The DPR furnishes information on the results achieved by the PSLRB with the public funds entrusted to it. Effective public reporting is essential to transparency and accountability in the Canadian system of government. Performance reports are generally tabled in Parliament every fall.

The latest reports can be found under Reports.

go to top

Does the PSLRB have regional offices?

The PSLRB does not have regional offices. The PSLRA sets the PSLRB’s head office to be in the National Capital Region. However, the PSLRB’s activities and services are offered across Canada.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Foire aux questions - À propos de la CRTFP

Qu’est-ce que la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et que fait-elle?

La Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique est un tribunal indépendant quasi judiciaire établi par une loi qui est chargé d’administrer les régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement. En application de son mandat, la CRTFP fournit principalement les deux services suivants* :

  • Services d’arbitrage : Les commissaires rendent des décisions sur des plaintes et diverses questions portant sur les relations de travail et agissent en tant qu’arbitres de griefs lors d’audiences de griefs dont ils sont saisis en vertu de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la nouvelle LRTFP).
  • Services de médiation : La CRTFP fournit des services de médiation aux parties afin de les aider à conclure des conventions collectives, à gérer leurs relations en vertu des conventions collectives et à régler des plaintes et des griefs, de manière à éviter le recours à l’arbitrage formel.

* la Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2013 a modifié le mandat de la CRTFP, éliminant ainsi la fonction d'analyse et de recherche en matière de rémunération de la CRTFP.

haut de page

Qu’est-il advenu de l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP)?

L’ancienne CRTFP a cessé d’exister au moment de l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique le 1er avril 2005.

Que font les commissaires et comment sont-ils choisis?

Les commissaires rendent des décisions sur des plaintes et d’autres questions portant sur les relations de travail et agissent en tant qu’arbitres de griefs lors d’audiences de griefs. Ils agissent aussi comme médiateurs, à l’occasion.

Les commissaires, à l’exclusion du président et des vice-présidents, sont choisis par le gouverneur en conseil parmi les personnes dont les noms figurent sur une liste dressée par le président de la Commission après consultation des agents négociateurs et les employeurs de la fonction publique qui sont régis par la nouvelle LRTFP. Ces derniers font des recommandations qui servent ensuite à dresser une liste de personnes aptes à être nommées à la Commission.

Pour être admissibles à la charge de commissaire, les candidats proposés doivent avoir des connaissances ou de l’expérience en matière de relations de travail. Les commissaires sont nommés de façon à ce que, dans la mesure du possible, un nombre égal de ceux-ci soit, d’une part, des personnes dont la nomination a été recommandée par les employeurs et, d’autre part, des personnes dont la nomination a été recommandée par les agents négociateurs. Cela dit, peu importe par quelle partie il a été recommandé, le commissaire ne représente pas cette partie; il est en outre tenu d’agir en tout temps avec impartialité. Les commissaires sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil pour un mandat d’au plus cinq ans, mais ce mandat peut être reconduit un certain nombre de fois.

Pour prendre connaissance de la biographie des commissaires, veuillez consulter la section Commissaires.

haut de page

Quels types d’affaires la CRTFP est-elle saisie?

La CRTFP est saisie des affaires suivantes :

Griefs (individuels, collectifs ou de principe) :

  • interprétation de conventions collectives et de décisions arbitrales
  • mesure disciplinaire entraînant un licenciement, une rétrogradation, une suspension ou une sanction pécuniaire
  • rétrogradation ou licenciement pour cause de rendement insatisfaisant ou pour d’autres raisons non disciplinaires
  • mutation sans le consentement de l’employé

Plaintes :

  • pratiques déloyales de travail
  • mesures de représailles contre une personne ayant soulevé une question en vertu de la partie II du Code canadien du travail

Demandes :

  • accréditation et annulation d’accréditation
  • détermination des droits du successeur
  • détermination de postes de gestion ou de confiance
  • détermination d’ententes sur les services essentiels
  • réexamen de décisions antérieures de la Commission
  • demandes de prorogation du délai prévu pour présenter un grief ou pour renvoyer un grief à l’arbitrage de griefs
haut de page

À quel ministère la CRTFP rend-elle compte?

En sa qualité de tribunal quasi-judiciaire, la CRTFP rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire d’un ministre désigné qui n’est pas membre du Conseil du Trésor. Actuellement, le ministre désigné est le ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, qui est responsable, en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, du dépôt du rapport annuel de la CRTFP au Parlement et de certaines nominations aux termes de cette même loi, ainsi que de la signature de documents exigés par la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Le président de la Commission est directement responsable devant le Parlement de l’application et de l’administration de la LRTFP.

Pourquoi la CRTFP affiche-t-elle ses décisions et ordonnances sur son site Web?

La Politique sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée de la CRTFP explique pourquoi les renseignements soumis à la CRTFP sont généralement mis à la disposition du public et pourquoi ils peuvent être rapportés dans une décision affichée sur le site Web de la CRTFP et distribuée aux éditeurs.

La CRTFP tient-elle compte de la protection des renseignements personnels lorsqu’elle affiche ses décisions sur son site Web?

La Politique sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée de la CRTFP explique la manière dont les questions relatives à la protection de la vie privée sont prises en considération pour rendre une décision.

haut de page

Mon nom est mentionné dans une décision de la CRTFP et je crains qu’il n’apparaisse si une recherche dans Internet est effectuée sur le site Web de la CRTFP. Peut-on faire quelque chose pour protéger mes renseignements personnels?

La Politique sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée de la CRTFP explique les mesures qui ont été prises pour empêcher les recherches sur Internet dans le texte intégral des décisions qui sont affichées sur le site Web de la CRTFP. Les seuls renseignements relatifs aux décisions affichées sur le site Web qui sont indexés par des moteurs de recherche Internet sont les résumés des décisions et les rapports annuels de la CRTFP. Nous ne pouvons pas garantir que les mesures technologiques seront toujours respectées ou exemptes d’erreurs ou de problèmes. Veuillez adresser vos questions au webmestre à l’adresse suivante : webmaster-webmestre@pslrb.gc.ca.

haut de page

Comment la CRTFP rend-elle compte de ses activités?

La CRTFP utilise deux documents en particulier pour rendre compte de ses activités devant le Parlement, auprès de sa clientèle et de ses intervenants et du public canadien. Le premier est le rapport annuel de la CRTFP au Parlement et le second, le rapport annuel sur le rendement (RMR).

En vertu de l’article 251 de la nouvelle LRTFP, à la fin de chaque exercice financier, la CRTFP doit établir un rapport sur l’application de la Loi au cours de l’exercice précédent. Le rapport décrit notamment la mission et les réalisations de la CRTFP ainsi que les défis qu’elle doit relever. Le ministre désigné – actuellement le ministre du Patrimoine canadien – fait déposer le rapport devant chaque chambre du Parlement dans les 15 premiers jours de séance suivant sa réception.

Le RMR fournit des renseignements sur les résultats obtenus par la CRTFP avec les fonds publics qui lui ont été attribués. Des rapports efficaces au public permettent d’assurer la transparence et la reddition de comptes du système gouvernemental canadien. Les rapports sur le rendement sont généralement déposés devant le Parlement à l’automne.

Les plus récents rapports sont disponibles sous Rapports.

haut de page

La CRTFP a-t-elle des bureaux régionaux?

La CRTFP ne dispose pas de bureaux régionaux. La nouvelle LRTFP situe le siège de la CRTFP dans la région de la capitale nationale. Toutefois, les activités et les services de la CRTFP sont offerts à l’échelle nationale.