Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Annual report of the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board – 2013-2014

YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

Chairperson: Catherine Ebbs, Chairperson
David Paul Olsen, Acting Chairperson
(January 2, 2013 to March 31, 2014)

Vice-Chairpersons: Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen
Renaud Paquet

Members: Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon
Adjudicators: Michael Fleming
Joan Gordon
Stan Lanyon
Ken Norman
Dan Quigley
Colin Taylor

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Executive Director: Guy Lalonde
General Counsel: Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Director, Compensation Analysis and Research Services: Suzanne Payette
Director, Dispute Resolution Services: Gilles Grenier
Director, Financial Services: Robert Sabourin
Director, Human Resources Services: Chantal Bélanger
Director, Registry Operations and Policy: Susan J. Mailer

REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON PUBLIC SERVICE
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2014

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for the Yukon public service. When performing those functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board (“the Board”).

PROCEEDINGS IN 2013-2014

In 2013-2014, there were 28 proceedings under the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Act (“the Act”), all of which were references to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions.

Grievance adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 43 grievance adjudication cases during the review period. Nineteen (19) were new, and 24 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. One (1) was closed, and 42 will be carried forward into 2014-2015.

Of the 43 grievance cases, 20 dealt with interpretations of collective agreements. Of those, 1 was scheduled for a hearing during the year. Twelve (12) remain to be scheduled, 4 were settled pending confirmation, 2 were postponed, and 1 was completed.

Twenty-three (23) cases dealt with disciplinary matters, 4 of which involved terminations. Of those 4 cases, 1 was scheduled for a hearing during the review period, and 3 remain to be scheduled. The 19 remaining cases dealing with other types of disciplinary matters remain to be scheduled.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, mediation is offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2013-2014, the Board did not receive any requests for mediation. However, with respect to collective bargaining files, there was 1 request in which a party asked that the Chairperson declare that a deadlock existed in accordance with section 49 of the Act. That request was not actioned as the parties were able to reach a tentative agreement before the Chairperson issued his decision.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon 2013-2014

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

Président : Catherine Ebbs, présidente
David Paul Olsen, président intérimaire
(du 2 janvier 2013 au 31 mars 2014) )

Vice-présidents : Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen
Renaud Paquet

Commissaires : Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon
Arbitres de griefs : Michael Fleming
Joan Gordon
Stan Lanyon
Ken Norman
Dan Quigley
Colin Taylor

CADRES DE DIRECTION DE LA COMMISSION

Directeur général : Guy Lalonde
Avocate générale : Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Directrice, Services d'analyse et de recherche en matière
de rémunération :
Suzanne Payette
Directeur, Services de règlement des conflits : Gilles Grenier
Directeur, Services financiers : Robert Sabourin
Directrice, Services des ressources humaines : Chantal Bélanger
Directrice, Opérations du greffe et politiques : Susan J. Mailer

RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION
DE LA LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL
DANS LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2014

INTRODUCTION

Aux termes d'une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d'arbitrage de griefs dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu'elle s'acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Commission »).

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2013-2014

En 2013-2014, il y a eu 28 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon (la « Loi »), qui étaient toutes des renvois à l'arbitrage de griefs portant sur l'interprétation de conventions collectives ou sur des mesures disciplinaires.

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de griefs nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment les cas de griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission a traité 43 cas d'arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 19 nouveaux cas et 24 reportés de l'exercice précédent. Un (1) cas a été réglé et 42 seront reportés à l'exercice de 2014-2015.

Sur ces 43 cas de griefs, 20 portaient sur l'interprétation de conventions collectives. Parmi ces cas, 1 a été mis au rôle durant l'année, 12 demeurent en attente d'être mis au rôle, 4 ont été tranchés en attente de la confirmation des parties, 2 ont été reportés, et 1 a été réglé.

Vingt-trois (23) cas portaient sur des sanctions disciplinaires, dont 4 portaient sur des licenciements. De ces 4 cas, 1 a été mis au rôle durant la période visée et 3 sont en attente d'être mis au rôle. Les 19 cas restants qui visent d'autres types de sanctions disciplinaires sont en attente d'être mis au rôle.

Médiation

Lorsqu'une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de médiation sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l'affaire ne soit renvoyée à l'arbitrage. En 2013-2014, la Commission n’a reçu aucune demande de médiation. Toutefois, en ce qui concerne une (1) demande, le président a déclaré qu’il y avait impasse, conformément à l’article 49 de la Loi. Aucune mesure n’a été prise à l’égard de cette demande parce que les parties ont conclu une entente de principe.