Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board
Annual report 2013-2014

YUKON TEACHERS
LABOUR RELATIONS BOARD


COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD

Chairperson: Catherine Ebbs, Chairperson
David Paul Olsen, Acting Chairperson (January 2, 2013 to March 31, 2014)

Vice-Chairpersons: Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen
Renaud Paquet

Members: Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon
Adjudicators: Michael Fleming
Joan Gordon
Stan Lanyon
Ken Norman
Dan Quigley
Colin Taylor

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

Executive Director: Guy Lalonde
General Counsel: Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Director, Compensation Analysis and Research Services: Suzanne Payette
Director, Dispute Resolution Services: Gilles Grenier
Director, Financial Services: Robert Sabourin
Director, Human Resources Services: Chantal Bélanger
Director, Registry Operations and Policy: Susan J. Mailer

REPORT ON THE ADMINISTRATION
OF THE YUKON EDUCATION
LABOUR RELATIONS ACT

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING
MARCH 31, 2014

INTRODUCTION

Under an agreement with the Yukon government, the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) administers the collective bargaining and grievance adjudication systems for Yukon teachers. When performing those functions, the PSLRB acts as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board (the “Board”).

PROCEEDINGS IN 2011-2012

In 2013-2014, there were 8 proceedings under the Yukon Education Labour Relations Act (the “Act”); 6 were references to adjudication of grievances related to interpretations of collective agreements and disciplinary actions, and 2 were references to adjudication of policy grievances related to the interpretation or application of a collective agreement or an arbitral award (pursuant to section 68 of the Act).

Grievance Adjudication

Adjudication refers to any determination made by adjudicators appointed by the Board pursuant to the Act. It includes the determination of grievances arising from the application or interpretation of collective agreements or arbitral awards or from major disciplinary actions or terminations.

The Board dealt with 9 grievance adjudication cases during the review period. Four (4) were new, and 5 were carried over from the previous fiscal year. Three (3) of those cases were closed, and 6 will be carried forward into 2014-2015.

Of the 9 grievance cases, 6 were disciplinary matters involving termination or suspension, and 3 involved the interpretation of collective agreements. Of those 6 discipline cases, 1 was scheduled for a hearing in 2013-2014, 1 remains to be scheduled, and 1 is awaiting decision. The remaining 3 cases were closed; decisions were reached for 2 of them, and 1 was settled and withdrawn.

Of the 3 grievances pertaining to the interpretation of collective agreements, 2 remain to be scheduled for a hearing, and 1, which was carried over from 2012-2013, is on hold pending a decision of the Supreme Court of Yukon.

Managerial and confidential positions

A person employed in a managerial or confidential position is one who, due to the nature of the duties being performed, meets the criteria established under the Act for exclusion from a bargaining unit.

In 2013-2014, there were no matters of this nature.

Mediation

When a proceeding is brought before the Board, mediation is offered to help the parties resolve their differences without resorting to a formal hearing. As well, the parties may request the Board’s assistance in resolving a dispute before the matter is referred to adjudication. In 2013-2014, the Board did not receive any requests for mediation.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

Rapport annuel de la Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon 2013-2014

COMMISSION DES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DU
PERSONNEL ENSEIGNANT DU YUKON


COMPOSITION DE LA COMMISSION

Président : Catherine Ebbs, présidente
David Paul Olsen, président intérimaire
(du 2 janvier 2013 au 31 mars 2014)

Vice-présidents : Linda Gobeil
David Paul Olsen
Renaud Paquet

Commissaires : Stephan J. Bertrand
John Jaworski
Steven B. Katkin
Michael McNamara
Catharine (Kate) Rogers
Margaret Shannon
Arbitres de grief : Michael Fleming
Joan Gordon
Stan Lanyon
Ken Norman
Dan Quigley
Colin Taylor

CADRES DE DIRECTION DE LA COMMISSION

Directeur général : Guy Lalonde
Avocate générale : Sylvie M.D. Guilbert
Directrice, Services d'analyse et de recherche en matière
de rémunération :
Suzanne Payette
Directeur, Services de règlement des conflits : Gilles Grenier
Directeur, Services financiers : Robert Sabourin
Directrice, Services des ressources humaines : Chantal Bélanger
Directrice, Opérations du greffe et politiques : Susan J. Mailer

RAPPORT SUR L’APPLICATION DE LA
LOI SUR LES RELATIONS DE TRAVAIL DANS
LE SECTEUR DE L’ÉDUCATION DU YUKON
POUR L’EXERCICE SE TERMINANT LE
31 MARS 2014

INTRODUCTION

Aux termes d’une entente conclue avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) administre les régimes de négociation collective et d’arbitrage de griefs du personnel enseignant du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions, la CRTFP agit en qualité de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon (la « Commission »).

AFFAIRES INTRODUITES EN 2013-2014

En 2013-2014, il y a eu 8 affaires en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l’éducation du Yukon (la « Loi »), dont 6 renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives et sur des mesures disciplinaires et 2 renvois à l’arbitrage de griefs de principe portant sur l’interprétation ou l’application d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale (en vertu de l’article 68 de la Loi).

Arbitrage de griefs

L’arbitrage de griefs s’entend de toutes les décisions rendues par les arbitres de grief nommés par la Commission en vertu de la Loi, notamment dans les cas de griefs résultant de l’application ou de l’interprétation de conventions collectives ou de décisions arbitrales, ou encore de lourdes mesures disciplinaires ou de licenciements.

La Commission a traité 9 cas d’arbitrage de griefs au cours de la période visée, dont 4 nouveaux et 5 reportés de l’exercice précédent. Trois (3) de ces cas ont été fermés et 6 seront reportés à 2014-2015.

Sur les 9 cas de griefs, 6 étaient des cas où l’on contestait un licenciement pour raisons disciplinaires ou une suspension et 3 concernaient l’interprétation de conventions collectives. Sur ces 6 cas disciplinaires, 1 a été mis au rôle pour 2013-2014, 1 doit être mis au rôle et 1 est en attente d’une décision. Les 3 cas restants ont été fermés; des décisions ont été rendues dans 2 cas, et dans 1 cas, le grief a été réglé et retiré.

Parmi les 3 griefs portant sur l’interprétation de conventions collectives, 2 doivent être mis au rôle, et 1, qui avait été reporté de 2012-2013, est en suspens en attendant une décision de la Cour suprême du Yukon.

Postes de direction ou de confiance

En raison de la nature de ses fonctions, quiconque occupe un poste de direction ou de confiance satisfait aux critères établis par la Loi pour être exclu d’une unité de négociation.

En 2013-2014, il n’y a eu aucun cas de ce genre.

Médiation

Lorsqu’une affaire est soumise à la Commission, des services de médiation sont offerts pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends sans recourir à une audience officielle. Les parties peuvent également demander à la Commission de les aider à résoudre un conflit avant que l’affaire ne soit renvoyée à l’arbitrage. En 2013-2014, la Commission n’a reçu aucune demande de médiation.